Talk

Advanced search

Books similar to Just William

(26 Posts)
Ricekrispie22 Sat 07-Oct-17 18:56:44

My son has devoured all of the Just William books, what next?

Jiggler Sat 07-Oct-17 18:59:49

The Jennings series by Anthony Buckeridge.

EmpressOfTheSpartacusOceans Sat 07-Oct-17 19:02:54

I was going to say Jennings too. Brilliant books and make sure you borrow them off him!

Ricekrispie22 Sat 07-Oct-17 19:11:35

Oooh thanks I'll investigate these.

EmpressOfTheSpartacusOceans Sat 07-Oct-17 19:16:50

They're about boys at boarding school. Very, very funny.

Trailedanderror Sat 07-Oct-17 19:30:36

Another vote for Jennings- I saw the title earlier and couldn't open the thread. Funniest books I've ever read.

BroomstickOfLove Sat 07-Oct-17 19:32:42

I came on to say Jennings, too.

Jiggler Sat 07-Oct-17 19:34:12

I love all the Jennings love! grin

EmpressOfTheSpartacusOceans Sat 07-Oct-17 19:36:21

Fossilised fish-hooks!

Time40 Sat 07-Oct-17 19:44:13

Another vote for Jennings. They're absolutely hilarious books.

Jiggler Sat 07-Oct-17 19:46:38

Clodpoll!

EmpressOfTheSpartacusOceans Sat 07-Oct-17 19:47:27

I... I... Corwumph!

gringringrin

Witchend Sun 08-Oct-17 09:39:30

I came on to say Jennings too!

A slightly different one:
The Black Bog Mystery by Lane Mitchell if you can find it is funny too.

Ricekrispie22 Sun 08-Oct-17 10:10:34

Thanks for the suggestions. Keep them coming. School gave him a Biggles book but he's not enjoying it.

Witchend Sun 08-Oct-17 19:13:31

Try some Geoffrey Trease perhaps. Bannermere Series or Cue for treason.

Footle Tue 10-Oct-17 18:55:39

I enjoyed Jennings a very long time ago when I was a child but I really don’t think he’s stood the test of time.

EmpressOfTheSpartacusOceans Tue 10-Oct-17 21:18:45

I gave my mum some Jennings books for Christmas last year, ones I remembered from childhood, and they had us both in fits of laughter still.

ojell Fri 13-Oct-17 19:10:39

You might also try the Molesworth books (written by Geoffrey Willans and illustrated by Ronald Searle). First in the series is 'Down With Skool'.

hels71 Tue 17-Oct-17 21:11:18

DD (10) and I are enjoying sharing Jennings at bedtime. She was shrieking with laughter.....

BikeRunSki Tue 17-Oct-17 21:12:52

The Jennings books have recently been updated.

TheCountessofFitzdotterel Tue 17-Oct-17 21:39:24

P.G.Wodehouse is similar in many ways.

If you mean subject wise rather than style, Wimpy Kid is hilarious.

If it's the old fashioned writing he is responding to, Norman Hunter (Incrediblania books and Professor Branestawm) is a hit in my house at the moment.

Cat2014 Tue 17-Oct-17 21:42:06

Love love love William and Jennings!!

EmpressOfTheSpartacusOceans Tue 17-Oct-17 22:20:43

Updated? What have they done to them?

The ones I bought were old editions off EBay.

BikeRunSki Wed 18-Oct-17 19:12:54

I think they’ve just modernised the language a little.

HunkyDory69 Wed 18-Oct-17 23:38:00

Things like converting a shilling to 10p etc

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now »

Already registered? Log in with: