Talk

Advanced search

Looking for STEM Picture Books like "Annie Aarvark, Mathematician" or "Rosie Revere Engineer"

(11 Posts)
lilgirlie17 Sat 18-Feb-17 20:31:19

Hi,

I'm looking for more picture books that have Science, Engineering, Technology and Math and are fun stories! Right now we (my toddler son, husband, and I) are enjoying "Annie Aardvark, Mathematician" and "Rosie Revere, Engineer" and I'd like to find more like that! Thanks!

BlueChampagne Mon 20-Feb-17 12:54:30

"Tiny: the invisible world of microbes"
www.amazon.co.uk/d/Books/Tiny-Invisible-World-Microbes-Nicola-Davies/1406360708/ref=pd_sbs_14_img_0?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=J8QVYX03CWQB29ZMDY7S&tag=mumsnetforum-21

iseenodust Wed 22-Feb-17 10:11:14

Spooky sums and counting horrors
Russell the Sheep & Russell and the lost treasure (fab invention page)

lilgirlie17 Wed 22-Feb-17 18:48:38

Russell The Sheep looks fun! Thank you for the recommendations! Hope more come!

user1494149651 Sun 07-May-17 12:39:17

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

BlueChampagne Tue 09-May-17 12:55:17

365 Penguins

zephr Wed 30-Aug-17 19:19:49

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

germainegrainne Sun 03-Sep-17 15:42:23

My son loves both:

The Boy Who Loved Math: The Improbable Life of Paul Erdos by Heiligman, Deborah (2013) Hardcover https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00M0DASNO/ref=cmswwrcpp_apirrbRzbKHFE7G88_

And

On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein_ https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/145215211X/ref=cmm_swrr_cpapii_gsbRzbY7VFZTR

And liked

What's Your Angle, Pythagoras? https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1570911509/ref=cmsww_rcpp_api_QsbRzb59TZ3R6

Cornishblues Sat 16-Sep-17 19:48:41

Mr Archimedes' bath (Pamela Allen).

CountFosco Tue 10-Oct-17 22:35:06

We've got a few books about female scientists (I'm a scientist and my DD was told by a school friend women couldn't be scientists so we're trying to prevent that thinking with lots of female scientist books).

Stone Girl, Bone Girl about Mary Anning
The Watcher: Jane Goodall's Life with the Chimps
Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine
Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World

Don't have a book about Marie Curie but this looks good although she tends to be the token woman in standard science books because she can't be ignored: Marie Curie (Little People, Big Dreams)

Also this looks interesting on Caroline Herschel: Caroline's Comets: A True Story

HeyRoly Tue 10-Oct-17 22:36:52

From the Rosie Revere series you mentioned in your OP, there's "Ada Twist, Scientist" grin

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now