Books similar to Beast Quest? With 'fighting'.

(15 Posts)
chamenager Wed 29-Jun-16 18:07:38

DS has recently got the reading bug. It was The Magic Treehouse that did it - he devoured the first 16 books in the space of three weeks or so.

Since, he has read a couple each of Dinosaur Cove books and Beast Quest books. I asked him which he preferred, and he said 'Beast Quest because there is more fighting. If you get me new books, please look for books with fighting.'

Erm... so much for complex characters and interesting story lines!

Can anyone recommend books that I could use to break up the Beast Quest marathon I see coming up?

He's not (yet) interested in 'funny', or children being naughty/bad (hates Horrid Henry books); animal stories or school stories. It really has got to be adventurous, but even Dinosaur Cove, well there isn't enough fighting.

Also it can't be scary. However what he finds scary is a bit weird - threatening armageddon - no problem (he knows there will be a Happy End, after all). His is more of a social anxiety. Children doing wrong and being caught. Topsy & Tim, even Bing, can send him running to hide.
Started reading 'The Secret Garden' to him but didn't get very far - the suspense of what is in that forbidden place killed it off.
And people dying. Sad stuff. Nope. That's why he stopped with the Magic Treehouse - book 17 is about the Titanic. He couldn't bear continuing to read, knowing that the Titanic WOULD sink and there was no way there was going to be a Happy End. He relies on that Happy End, he does.

Dr. Seuss - what we have tried so far, too 'funny', not enough adventure.
Roald Dahl - He found Charlie & the Chocolate Factory (me reading to him) VERY scary. All those children being naughty and being punished in horrible ways! James and the Giant Peach - beginning was very off-putting but it got better with a happy end.

FWIW he is in Y1, still 5.

And I am not from here and don't know many of the books that are often recommended. So can you please spell things out for me? E.g. if you are going to recommend 'David Walliams' could you please tell me which books you actually mean?

Thank you. smile

BessieBraddocksEgg Wed 29-Jun-16 18:30:01

So he is reading them himself? There really is no point reading them out loud imo! They are good for building up reading stamina.

There are a lot in the series and there is another series called Sea Quest!

Not fighting but, After Beast Quest mine went onto the Enid Blyton Famous Five series starting with Five on a Treasure Island. Also non upsetting Roald Dahl's included Esio Trot, The Giraffe The Pelly and Me. George's Marvellous medicine and Fantastic Mr Fox were easier reading Dahl's but with possible slightly upsetting parts, worth a try though.

chamenager Wed 29-Jun-16 22:21:58

Yes he is reading them himself. For the first book, we took turns (only way to get him into reading something new). I've been reading only occasional chapters since then (he's into book four now, plus has read two 'early reader' Beast Quest books too), it's a good thing that the story lines aren't very complex ;)

I know there are lots, that's exactly why I want to be ready with options/alternatives, at the slightest sign that he's starting to be weary of them.

Thanks for the suggestions, will look out for Famous Five and the Dahl books.

BessieBraddocksEgg Thu 30-Jun-16 11:12:51

At that stage I found Flat Stanley by Jeff Brown was nice to read together: easy to read but a little old fashioned so I'd supply explanations.
Its a gentle fantasy where poor Stanley does get squashed flat at the start, he is very stoical about it though!

Witchend Thu 30-Jun-16 14:29:50

Ds loved the little house books especially Farmer's Boy at that age.

Sadik Thu 30-Jun-16 21:54:08

The Astrosaurs series about dinosaur space cadets (I know, but just go with it grin ) might really hit the spot. If they're a little too hard to read try Astrosaurs Academy books (dinosaur space cadets in training . . . of course) which are easier.

Also the Cows in Action series by the same author - about time travelling mystery solving cows (what else).

If you're a glutton for punishment, there's a Cows in Action joke book, full of cow-themed jokes aimed at small children. (I think the teachers used to send it home from school with any dc whose parents had been awkward that week.)

Sadik Thu 30-Jun-16 21:57:53

Sorry, forgot to say the author of the Astrosaurs/Cows in Action books is Steve Cole.

Leeds2 Thu 30-Jun-16 22:56:13

Second Astrosaurs/Cows In Action.

chamenager Thu 30-Jun-16 23:24:41

Thanks for the recommendations. Can I ask, with Flat Stanley and with the Astrosaurs, is it preferable to start with book 1 of the series, or does each work as a standalone? (I found one book of each series in the charity shop, but not the first)

Meanwhile, for others who may be interested, I found this:

Suggested reading leading on from Rainbow Fairies and Beast Quest

And I also found a page (well it looks like a blog) that is called
Life After Beast Quest
I am taking away the recommendation for Lucy Coats/Greek Mythology from there, and some other ideas.

And this Chapter Books for Boys 7 plus page recommends
- Yuck, by Matt and Dave
- Astrosaurs, Cows in Action (as above)
- Secret Agent Jack Stalwart
- My Dad's got an Alligator
- Fantastic Mr Fox and other Roald Dahl
- Jake Cake
- Mr Gum
- Zac Power

BessieBraddocksEgg Fri 01-Jul-16 00:05:39

For Flat Stanley start with the first. I found it to be the best too.

Sadik Fri 01-Jul-16 08:02:07

I don't think it matters at all with the Astrosaurs / CiA book

BikeRunSki Fri 01-Jul-16 08:05:46

With Flat Stanley you need to start with the first one so you find out why he's flat! Also the best in the series.

chamenager Mon 04-Jul-16 09:21:59

Brilliant, thanks. I'm on the look-out for Flat Stanley Nr 1 now.

He's going at a rate of two books every three days. I bought the first 12 Beast Quest books (first two series) - I have told him that when he is through with those (which will be soon - sometime next week probably) he'll have to rely on the library for more, which will mean either reading them in a random, jumbled order, or ordering/reserving them and waiting for them to become available. So that will be my opportunity to suggest other reading to him ;)

chamenager Mon 04-Jul-16 09:34:26

Also can I ask, any opinions on Frankie's Magic Football? As far as I can see the format is similar to Magic Treehouse and ORT Magic Key books: The children are transported to a different time/place and have an adventure; just with the Magic Football, the adventure is a (fantastical) football match. I'm thinking the football element may be 'acceptable' to my DS as replacement for 'real' fighting.
But I have never seen Frankie's Magic Football books come up as a recommendation, anywhere - so am wondering if they are actually any good?

Backingvocals Sat 09-Jul-16 19:33:37

We have some of the Frankie's Magic football ones. Yes they follow a formula like beast quest so are good for early readers as each plot is basically the same. I'd say they are slightly simpler than Beast Quest. They are pretty boring if you are 47 but not bad at all if you are 6! DS also enjoys the Jack Stalwart series (he's a boy spy) and Dinosaur Cove - again formulaic adventures that they can read themselves.

If fighting is really important, an early reader Robin Hood is a good place to start. We have a Tony Ross one which is ok.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now