Talk

Advanced search

Teen fiction website - thoughts please

(13 Posts)
Thewidewideworld Wed 03-Oct-12 16:16:35

Name changed for this as the site I'm going to link to has my rl name on it and I don't want to out myself on my regular name, but I am a longtime Mumsnetter and regular contributor to the children's books forum.
I'm an English teacher with a big interest in YA fiction and I've put together a little website mainly for English teachers but which may also be of interest for teenagers and their parents.
My plan is to build up some more content over the next few weeks and then upgrade the website - hopefullly I will add some extra features including a message forum. I really just want to make it a useful resource for busy classroom teachers who don't have time to read all the new YA literature themselves or scour the web looking for good author blogs or websites. If they can point pupils at it as a place where they can find out what they might like to read next that would be great. It might also be useful for parents who want to encourage their teens to read but don't know what to suggest.
I've posted in the staffroom to get feedback from teachers but it would be good to get feedback from parents as well about what they and their teens would find useful on a site like this.
Anyway here it is The widewideworld

madamehooch Wed 03-Oct-12 16:53:05

Hi there Wide

I've had a look at your website wearing my bookseller's hat and also from the perspective of someone who runs reading groups in secondary schools.