Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

can you earn as a childminder while getting maternity pay?

(14 Posts)
kelli22 Mon 27-Jun-05 13:08:33

Does anyone know if you can, i'm just a bit worried as i plan to start childminding in nov/ dec but my mat pay doesn't finish til end of feb, but i know that i will need some income whhile i'm just starting out, so can i do that or not?

I've already asked tax credits if i can get help while i'm in the first year of childminding but they said taht my partner earns too much for me to be able to get any extra (i get £10 a wk now) well i don't physically get anything as they said they over paid me so i havent had any money for 2 years....(what a waste of space they are hey)

sorry to moan, kinda all just came out - sorry

Thanks girls

ssd Mon 27-Jun-05 15:55:21

kelli, I agree they are rubbish!

Don't see why you can't work as a childminder, if it helps.

ssd Mon 27-Jun-05 15:58:34

hopefully someone with more knowledge will come along soon!

sweetheart Mon 27-Jun-05 16:07:24

If you will be paying tax and NI to the Inland revenue this will effect your mat pay

hatstand Mon 27-Jun-05 16:10:05

fairly sure you can't simultaneously earn and claim maternity pay. I know it's been an issue where I work, with people wanting people on mat leave to do the odd bit of consultancy type work - and I know it throws our accounts and HR people totally

kelli22 Mon 27-Jun-05 16:27:25

i've been searching for an answer to this all day but no luck to finding the answer so far, i think i will have to get in touch with the job centre or dss to find out, i think there should be a limit to how much you can earn before they stop paying you mat pay. we'll see i'll keep you posted in case i find a solution, in the mean time if anyone knows the answer please put me out of my misery cheers girls

goldenoldie Mon 27-Jun-05 19:36:54