Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Too old to Nanny??????

(25 Posts)
born2ski Mon 26-Oct-09 23:20:05

Hi i'm just looking for some advice really! I'm a 25 year old nanny who after spending 6 years working in private day nurseries decided for a bit of a lifestyle change! I started doing season work (still childcare) for a family ski operator, I am still doing this but feel that this may be my last winter. I am really interested in doing a couple of years nannying before completely settling down but I only seem to meet 19/20 yr old nannies and i'm a little worried that at 26/27 may struggle, I have over 10 yrs childcare experience and would love to nanny somewhere in london. Does anyone have any advice? (sorry its sooooo long!)

nannynick Tue 27-Oct-09 07:14:36

I'm 34 and didn't start full-time nannying until my late 20's.
Biggest problem I feel you will have is that your past experience has been in group childcare. Nannying is different to nursery/holiday club work. So try to emphasise any work you have done on a 1:1 1:2 level, even if that was babysitting. I feel you need to be able to show that you are happy to work on your own.

madusa Tue 27-Oct-09 07:29:29

i too am 34 and have never been busier!

With age comes a certain level of maturity

sleepwhenidie Tue 27-Oct-09 07:29:37

I have recently taken on a nanny for the first time and as an employer I preferred older applicants (much older than 25 even!), so I wouldn't worry about age per se, just as nannynick said, emphasise 1:1 experience.

Irishfairy Tue 27-Oct-09 10:34:38

I'm 25 and have been nannying for 2 years and from what I have experienced employers seem to prefer that.
I know of 19 and 20 year olds who have not gotten positions because parents feel they are too young and may not have the maturity for the job.