Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Sudden changes by childminder?

(18 Posts)
WeeHalfPint Sat 03-Oct-09 07:44:44

Hi,

Newbie here o/....be gentle with me

I'm in need of a bit of advice regarding childminder. DS1 has attended same CM for 2 years, with no problems. contracted hours are 9-3 and we've always had the arrangement that I drop him off 10 min earlier and pick up no later than 10mins after 3.

During summer, CM took holidays at short notice, wasn't a problem with me as I was able to work around and she did offer alternative days.

Last week I suddenly got a "newsletter" informing me that from 1st oct parents who drop off/collect more than 5 mins early/late will be charged. She only has my DS & 1 other...it was obviously aimed at me. She has offered to take DS earlier/later & change contracted hours to accomodate but this will make my childcare unafforable and she stressed charges will still apply (fair enough) She states that it is because her son is now at school and she has school run (she lives less than 5 mins from school and has always done school run).

I'm now feeling a little bit confused as to why our relationship seems to have suddenly changed without a real reasonable explanation. I have niggling doubts due to events since summer and DS has started saying he doesn;t want to go there (although CM assures me he's fine once I;ve left)

Can she give me such short notice regarding extra charges? I want to try and come to an agreement with her but get the feeling she doesn't want to look after DS anymore, whatever I suggest there seems to be an obstacle in the way.

I;d really appreciate some advice from parents & childminder alike as I am completely unsure of what to do and how to fix this.

Thanks in advance.

WHP x

Tombliboobs Sat 03-Oct-09 08:02:51