Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

New Nanny with own child, please advise

(21 Posts)
EvaLongoria Mon 28-Sep-09 22:23:54

Hi All

I am very new at this but kind of last minute needed care for my DD of 2 years. Because of my hours I am struggling to find a childminder who is willing to stretch an hour later than normal 6pm finish.

I am seeing a Nanny tomorrow and she has a little boy of her own age slightly younger than my DD.

I want to know now, the salary do I still pay her the same I would for a normal nanny with no kid of their own. And what is the best way of pay Gross or Net?

Also because of someone else's child in my house what else do I have to do?

Many thanks

frakkinpannikin Mon 28-Sep-09 22:28:26

Nanny with own child is sometimes £1 or £2 cheaper/hour than one without. Always pay gross, never net, because you might get caught out by tax changes or she might be on a funny tax code.

Think about whether you need extra equipment for her child and who will provide that, whether the children's routines will work together, whether your children will get on, whether she has her own things that she likes to do with her DS and if you're happy for your DD to do the same, who pays for outings (do you pay for your DD or for both children), what happens if you want your DD to do an activity her DS doesn't or vice versa, who pays for food for nanny's DS, what happens if her DS is sick or your DD is sick - ff you search nanny with own child on here there are lots of threads about it!

Good luck

frakkinpannikin Mon 28-Sep-09 22:30:36