Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

two nannies

(22 Posts)
redtabby Sat 29-Aug-09 19:05:18

Hi
I am new to all this (first baby) and wondered if anyone had thoughts about or experience of having two nannies sharing the childcare with us (me and my DH). I am going back to work next month, my baby will be nearly 4 months old. His daddy will be looking after him about two days a week, and two nannies will be sharing the other weekdays. I will also be around working at home some of the time but out for quite a large proportion of the working week. I will be home all weekend.

Of course it is always a wrench to leave your little baby with others, but does ayone feel it will be a particular problem that baby will have basically four different caregivers? My instinct is that it will be good for him, as long as everyone is loving and caring, but could he become confused or worried by there being several different people? Any ways to minimise this?

I would appreciate any thoughts. Thanks.

thisisyesterday Sat 29-Aug-09 19:07:26

what are your reasons for wnating 2 different nannies?

personally i would prefer to only have 1, as i think it must be quite confusing for a small child to be cared for by a lot of different people

Sam100 Sat 29-Aug-09 19:09:10

Do you mean grannies rather than nannies?

frakkinpannikinAGRIPPA Sat 29-Aug-09 19:09:59

I don't think the being around different people is an issue if he's used to it from the beginning IYSWIM.

The only issue I've come across with two nannies (as one of the nannies) is ensuring good continuity between each other and the parents, especially when your DS grows up and discipline/boundaries become more important.

I think having 2 nannies will be more stressful for you than for him!

redtabby Sat 29-Aug-09 19:11:44