Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

does this type of contract exist? and am I likely to get one?

(17 Posts)
gingernutlover Mon 17-Aug-09 09:23:22

hi all - I am worrying in advance here but wondered if anyone could answer some general questions?

I am a teacher working 3 days a week and at the moment my dd goes to a day nursery but when she starts school (another year yet) i think we will need to have a childminder.

Do childminders do contracts for term time only? Would I have to pay in the school holidays at all? Would they cover INSET days?

Also, what do most childminders do about their holidays - I am really worried because my friend has a childminder that gave her 1 month notice of going away for 2 weeks holiday in term time - if this happened to me I would be stuffed because I don't get holiday allowance in term time, no matter how much notice I am given. The childminder wants to be paid for the 2 weeks but my friend will have to pay twice for childcare, is that normal?

pinenuts Mon 17-Aug-09 09:45:58

Hi,there is every type of contract out there childminders can be very flexible.i CM for a teacher but have school age children myself so hols usually happen term time anyway ,i dont charge for school hols as i have other school age children just in hols,i have to make allowances for the inset days but my dad is my assisstant so can work with me on pre agreed inset days,i give 6 months + notice on hols but you can agree any time for notice of hols once agreed it is written into contract.

pinenuts Mon 17-Aug-09 09:46:49

sorry hols "dont" happen termtime !!!

gingernutlover Mon 17-Aug-09 09:55:13

ah okay, sounds like i just have to find the right childminder for me then smile

thankyou for the info