Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Au pairs - advice please...

(24 Posts)
mrschigley Sat 15-Aug-09 20:28:01

I'm new to this so please bear with me... we need to find an au pair for beginning September (I know, I know, we've left it too late) never done this before. Please can all you much more experienced people tell me;

(i) sign on with one au pair agency, all of them, what do you do?
(ii) language courses - am I supposed to find one for the au pair? Do I pay for it? Most of the courses in nearest town seem to be 25 hrs+ per week and early morning start which would be tricky as I need AP to help out getting kids out of the door for school...
(iii) food! are you lot feeding your AP on Iceland multipacks of chicken nuggets and pizza or do they get fillet steak every night?

and any other advice for an AP newbie gratefully received..

Millarkie Sat 15-Aug-09 21:02:00

i) I would look on local gumtree (especially good for imediate starts) and register with aupair-world.net. There are generally a lot of aupairs looking for a September start. Have a really clear idea of what you want the au pair to do and what hours they need to work..when they contact you, you need to give them as much detail as you can about the job, their room, your family, the local area, pocket money.