Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

childminder or nursery- not the usual question though!

(5 Posts)
diffrentid Sat 15-Aug-09 16:04:15

Ive changed my name to keep my normal on private if anyone recognises me!

Im a nursery nurse on maternity leave. I have 2 dds. dd1 is at school and very happy with her childminder. I am very happy with the childminder and Im very happy that dd2 will be going to her when I return to work.

But when I go back I will be working 3 and a half days a week, so I will be picking up dd1 from school on my half day and during the holiday she will go to the childminder.

What do people think about the idea of putting dd2 in to my nursery for that half a day?

The main reason is I think is that I would rather stay at home but cant so leaving her for three days feels more comfortable than leaving her for 3 and a half iyswim.

It also means that I can just go straight from work to pick up dd1, and when the childminder is on holiday or unwell (which has never happened since dd1 started going) I would be able to put dd2 in for extra sessions.

I dont want to upset the childminder because I wouldnt want her to think it was anything to do with her or the way she looks after either dd.

Sorry its a bit rambling and I hope that makes sense but what do people think?

leonifay Sat 15-Aug-09 16:25:21

i dont quite understand what you mean, but if its easier for you then i cant see why not. your cm will understand, its a business decision not personal.

diffrentid Sat 15-Aug-09 16:42:11

It more what would be best for dd2, I dont know if I just want her with me when it would really be better for her if she stayed with the childmonder all of the time.