Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

One day a week childcare?

(16 Posts)
Alittlebitrestless Fri 14-Aug-09 05:10:05

I am due to return to work for one day a week. (I am a teacher and just want to keep my hand in). A family member is able to look after my ds for the first few months and then I will need to find childcare.

We have looked into finding a child minder and found it difficult to find someone. I have been to see several nurseries and found one I like. However I am worrying that this will be hard for my ds to cope with for just one day a week?

Has anyone got any experience to share? What have other people done when they have needed child care for such a short amount of time per week? I wonder if any of the childminders have any of their mindees for just one day a week and if this works out well?

(I will post this in the nurseries section as well)

Many thanks

badgerhead Fri 14-Aug-09 06:58:01

I have had mindies for just one day a week in the past, but not at the moment. Although saying that I do have one who comes for 2 hours on two consecutive days 4 pm to 6 pm at the moment. I find it often takes longer for children who come less frequently to settle in & usually end up extending my settling in period to 6 weeks from 4 weeks to be able assess the situation more easily.
You might find a childminder who is willing to have your ds for extra settling in time to help with the transition, and also it will depend on whether the childminder is willing to have a child take up a space on one day only when they have either a full time or part time space available which could be filled by a child who does more hours. Having said that though hunt around there is probably just the right childminder out there for you.

Alittlebitrestless Fri 14-Aug-09 07:34:09

Thank you for the reply, badgerhead. It is good to have different perspectives.