Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Do nannies charge for the time your kids are at playgroup?

(13 Posts)
glamourbadger Tue 11-Aug-09 11:33:43

Hi all, I'm new to this so apologies if this has been answered before.

I am going back to work 3 days/week and would like to keep my girls in their playgroup 9am-1pm. I am going to advertise for a nanny to do a morning drop off and afternoon pickup. What is the protocol is for paying for the time in-between? Do employers generally pay a nanny for this time? Is this the same when children go to school (are you expected to pay 9am-3pm)?

Would really appreciate some nanny advice to help with my budgeting - cheers for any replies.

LucyJones Tue 11-Aug-09 11:35:16

I think you have to pay them because if your child is sick presumably you would need the nanny to look after the child? also the nanny might have to stay as a helper once every 6 weeks etc
would a nursery be better?

Blondeshavemorefun Tue 11-Aug-09 12:59:31

you can just pay them for morning and then pick up hours (bit like having a nanny for children at school all day) BUT who would care for them/pick them up if ill or if nursery shut etc

or you can bite the bullet and pay for the time they are at nusery and maybe ask the nanny to do some child related chores, ie do their washing/change beds/stock freezer

danthe4th Tue 11-Aug-09 14:37:40

You may get a childminder to do this but yes you would pay while they were at playgroup unless it fitted in with them. Worth asking local minders who do drop offs at the playgroup.Some may only charge a half fee but others full as they may not be able to fill the space that you would need if the playgroup closed and at holiday time.

nannyL Tue 11-Aug-09 17:29:03

Most nannies would charge in those circumstances.

Its not as if she can get another nanny job in that time

FantasticMissFox Tue 11-Aug-09 20:19:15