Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Thinking of becoming a childminder, is it worth it?

(28 Posts)
Nicadooby Tue 04-Aug-09 20:39:17

Hi there,

I'm seriously thinking of becoming a childminder, at the moment i am taking my DS who is 14 months old to work with me as a nanny (which i have been doing for 14 years) but i am hoping to have another child in the future.

I really don't think i will be able to take two children to work nannying which is why i am looking into childminding, but i am really conserned about the amount of paper work it envoles?

From looking at ratio's it also looks like i will only be able to care for one other child under 5 is that right? I only live in a two bedroomed house although we have a conserverty but no playroom will that make a difference?

I guess i'm just a bit worried that ofsted will think it isn't very big, we also have a dog do you think that would also be an issue?

Thanks in addvance Nic x

HSMM Tue 04-Aug-09 20:47:41

Ofsted will tell you if you have enough space for 1 more under 5. You may put some parents off by having a dog. You will not be able to leave the dog alone with the mindee. You will have to keep records of the child you mind and contracts, register, accounts, etc. Can the conservatory be a play room?

iMumruly Tue 04-Aug-09 20:49:37

not in my experience no. but then ive got 3 kids of my own that take up "spaces" so the earning potential is cut down straight away. and also only in my experience cant comment for others but the parents walk all over you, forget that this is your lively hood and view it as a little hobby for you.

iMumruly Tue 04-Aug-09 20:50:58

however I have a dog cat rabit and 2 chickens-ofsted didnt bat an eyelid-the paperwork is ridiculous annoying and time consuming, our house isnt huge but again it didnt seem to bother ofsted.

Nicadooby Tue 04-Aug-09 20:55:21

Thanks for the quick reponse,