Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Just had a Policy for the Prevention of Swine 'flu from our childminder - what do you think?

(10 Posts)
IwishIwasmoreorganised Wed 29-Jul-09 19:52:52

Can I start by saying that I am very happy with our childminder. I am a healthcare professional myself, and am aware of the current guideance re: swine flu

The policy has been produced due to the recent outbreak of swine flu to HELP prevent any further outbreaks of the virus at her childcare setting.

It's all ok, on about if a child is displaying flu like symptoms then they will need to be immediately collected.

If they are ill, then don't go to the Gp's - instead ring for advice

If they are diagnosed with swine flu then they can't go until all of their symptoms have gone.

That's all fine.

This paragraph though I'm not so happy about:

Any child with symptoms such as aches and pains, fever, sore throat, headache, diarrhoea, a cough or cold that could develop into something, should not attend.

Now forgive me, but how am I supposed to know if a cough or cold "could develop into something?!"

Also, if my dd has had a cough or runny nose before but she has been essentially well and able to cope with time at the childmiders then she has gone.

This policy now says that this won't be allowed to happen, therefore in essence the rules of the contract are changing. Where does that leave me in terms of paying for days when my dd is not allowed to attend because of a minor ailment when she would previously been fine to go?

danthe4th Wed 29-Jul-09 20:31:41