Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

How much is nanny's perogative?

(11 Posts)
nanny2precious Wed 29-Jul-09 14:50:13

I'm fairly new to nannying, and am working with a 10yo at the moment. She's always been a bit developmentally delayed and very clingy, but the school holidays meaning she's with me 24/7 have really exacerbated it!

It all kind of came to a head today when she turned down every suggestion I made for things to do together, then sat and moaned at me that she had nothing to do. If it was a sibling or my own child I know that I'd instigate some, uh, supervised neglect, I suppose. Allow her to entertain herself for a while.

As a nanny though, I'm not sure how acceptable this is? I feel like if I'm being paid to look after her, then that's what I should be doing, and if she can't entertain herself I should be?

I guess what I'm asking is, as an employer, bearing in mind that your nanny had made a concerted effort to get the child to do some kind of activity, would you be upset if the child was left to her own devices for the rest of the day? Rather than me tearing my hair out trying to think of activities, which will inevitably be shot down...

meemarsgotabrandnewbump Wed 29-Jul-09 14:53:37

If I was her mum would have no objection to you going about some tasks and seeing if she can entertain herself for a while. It might be just what she needs.

Caring for her means teaching her skills like this, rather than simply entertaining her the whole time.

hercules1 Wed 29-Jul-09 14:53:45