Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

What is the protocol for a gift when your wonderful nanny leaves?

(7 Posts)
specialk1215 Sun 12-Jul-09 21:44:36

Hi all,
Our wonderful nanny of three years is leaving this week as she now needs fewer hours so she can take her daughter to and from school. We adore her and will definitely keep in touch.

I have always given her a weeks salary for a Christmas bonus, but I feel this is too much money to give as a leaving gift. She loves classical music, so I bought her two tickets to a great BBC Proms concert with amazing seats. I have also gotten my 4-year old and 2-year old to draw and paint pictures for her. Is that a good enough leaving gift, or is there a 'protocol' for giving an extra weeks wages or something??? I want to be fair and generous, as she has really been great and she is like a part of our family.

THis is my first time losing a nanny, so I don't know what the norm is. Can anyone please advise?

Thanks a lot all!!

nannynick Sun 12-Jul-09 23:11:37

I think that getting your nanny tickets for a concert she will like plus pictures from the children is a great gift.

I have a mug which a child drew on (think it is one of those mugs produced by a print company, as the picture is semi glazed over) which come Xmas this year will be 10 years old. So if you wanted the children to give something that will keep over time... then having a picture put on a mug may be a good idea.

I don't think there is any 'protocol' for this kind of thing. Your nanny is in effect resigning from the job, so I suppose it's a bit like having a collection at the office for a leaving gift - something to remember you and the children.

thebody Mon 13-Jul-09 17:50:12

what you have done sounds lovely and I ma sure she will be touched and pleased..

OhBling Mon 13-Jul-09 18:00:53