Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Live in nanny job - am I invading their private time?

(25 Posts)
OliviasNanny Sun 15-May-05 00:10:43

I work as a live-in nanny to single father and kids aged 2 and 4. I love my job and feel so relaxed in the home, its wonderful.

After dad gets home at night, we all sit and have a little chat then he goes and makes his tea and the children play. Sometimes I stay downstairs in their company as we get along so well and feel welcome. The dad doesnt seem to mind at all and sometimes I end up sitting downstairs all night if dad gets a dvd in and invites me to watch it or if there is something good on tv. what my problem is, is am I invading their space staying down after dad gets home? should this be their private time together?

dinny Sun 15-May-05 00:11:59

sounds great to me, has anything been said/done ot make you feel it's a prob?

sparklymieow Sun 15-May-05 00:12:26

he proberly enjoys the company

Fimbo Sun 15-May-05 00:12:35

If you have a good relationship with the father, could you ask him?

hunkermunker Sun 15-May-05 00:13:07

Sounds like he wants the company if he's inviting you. Can you ask him if he'd rather have his own space in the evenings?

OliviasNanny Sun 15-May-05 00:20:01

he hasnt said anything to make me think he doesnt want me around and is full of conversation when I do stay down. Even if I go upstairs to my room, the little boy always comes and finds me to give me a hug and steal everything from my room! So, I think he might like the company really. Esp as most nights he asks if I wanna join him for a dvd or play on the playstation and every weekend asks me to join him for a chinese once the kiddies are in bed. I just thought all parents wanted private time with their kids without the nanny getting in the way!

hatsoff Sun 15-May-05 00:25:06