Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Am so hacked off with FIS - how do CMers cope with all this bureaucracy?!

(16 Posts)
navyeyelasH Fri 19-Jun-09 13:16:02

Long story short I am a nanny and I'm changing to be a CM. I have 3 sets of parents who want full time care and who would like me to start in September.

Despite making enquiries about this is March its unlikely that I will be registered by September due to the way my local Family Information Services is run.

Every time I call them I feel like I'm talking to that woman off Little Britain, "computer says no"!

First of all I had t wait 3 months to get on an ICP course even though there was a sooner course. I couldn't get onto that because I hadn't done the two previous briefings, one of which is called "is childminding for me?". I work as a childminders assistant currently, I have done the EYFS training, I've also done the SEF training. But they wouldn't let me do the ICP as I missed that briefing. Now am I getting my arse in my hand here or was it stupid of them to not let me on the earlier ICP course?

Now I'm 4 weeks into the ICP course, I want to get my Ofsted stuff sent off but they don't release the ofsted forms until you have finished the ICP course - I have 5 weeks of the ICP left and probably around 12 weeks till Ofsted register me but for some insane reason I'm not allowed to get on with the ofsted side of things until I have finished the ICP. Can anyone explain to me why that may be?

It feels like they don't want any new CMers and try to make this as complex as possible; if I find the system this silly so early on is this a sign that CMing is not for me?
I am utterly fed up, but this -big- little rant has helped.

Well done if you got this far!

Katymac Fri 19-Jun-09 13:18:27

We don't

We whinge on MN

navyeyelasH Fri 19-Jun-09 13:23:46

So looks like I fit in already Katymac!