Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Sundays - What to charge???

(8 Posts)
poppymay Fri 26-Sep-08 19:35:01

Hi, looking for some advice on what to charge for weekend work as have no idea what the norm is!

My standard hourly rate is £4.50 (in middle of the going rate for my area).

It will be for 2 siblings and approx 5 hours.

Thanks!

JenniPenni Fri 26-Sep-08 19:39:18

My Sundays are for church and family, so I would charge at LEAST double to have to work that day. People in office jobs usually get paid time and a half on Sats and double on a Sunday, so you should too.

BoysAreLikeDogs Fri 26-Sep-08 19:40:30

I have occasionally worked weekends.

I charge double, no reduction for siblings.

HTH

lindseyfox Fri 26-Sep-08 19:40:55

I would say £12 an hr for the 2 of them.

I am a childrens nurse and do some weekend nanny work ad-hoc, and charge £12 an hr for sundays in east midlands and am at the very expensive end of what the going rate is, most people charge £8 an hr on weekends.

I guess you are a childminder from your rates and suppose you could charge more than that but then parents may think its more cost effective to get a weekend nanny.

Elk Fri 26-Sep-08 19:42:01

My CM used to charge double for evenings and weekends.

imananny Fri 26-Sep-08 20:18:26

i charge the same whether weekend or weekday, though do charge double for a bank holiday £10ph

I would charge them £10 -slightly more than your normal £9

poppymay Fri 26-Sep-08 22:06:52

Thanks for the replies, that really is a help!

I was thinking £10 - £12 an hour so pleased to hear that would be reasonable.

looneytune Sat 27-Sep-08 12:41:05