Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Would you hire me?

(18 Posts)
Lucy87 Wed 24-Sep-08 22:29:15

Hi,

I am an Australian nanny, and part time law/developmental psychology student. I presently live in Australia but previously have lived in the UK where I worked as a live in Nanny in London, and worked through various agencies as an emergency/temp nanny for 2 years.

I will be in London over December - March of this year, and was thinking of possibly working as a temp mothers help / nanny in order to fund some weekend travels. I will be coming to stay with my partner of 3 years, so I will have a stable base in NW London, but would be willing to travel. I will have a tourist visa, so obviously I will only be able to consider cash in hand arrangements, but am flexible as to the length/hours/duties!

I have almost 5 years experience, glowing references (including from my current Australian employers who have so kindly given me this time off to travel), can drive confidently in London, am super flexible!

So, I'm aware of all the usual places to look for temp jobs being advertised, but wanted to test the waters to see if anyone would be interested in an arrangement like this? Is it feasible?

I'd really appreciate feedback / your perspective!

Lucy

1dilemma Wed 24-Sep-08 22:39:19

No I wouldn't TBH (I don't have a nanny currently) time period is too short for me, and probably too short for mat leave cover for most too!
You might get a succession of temp jobs but you might also want to check with the agencies first I've heard that the market is saturated and nanny salaries are dropping!

fridayschild Thu 25-Sep-08 12:44:55

This would have worked for me 4 years ago - except for the cash in hand bit. I don't pay nannies cash in hand.