Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Could you tell me about PT nannies

(11 Posts)
Greatfun Wed 20-Aug-08 20:42:24

Excuse all the questions but I am new to this as we used a private nursery for DD. Now we ahve 2 DCS I am looking into the possibility of hiring a nanny on a PT basis.

I know this might be difficult to answer precisely but do you know how much a PT live out nanny would cost. 3 days a week (8-5) for 2 DCS (1 and 3). The 3 year old will be in pre school for 2.5 hours a day. We live in SW London/ Surrey.

If you go through an agency do you have to sort all the tax, etc out your self? I have seen quite a few ads on gumtree. If we were to go down this route presumable we would have to do the tax etc ourselves.

I would be open to the idea of having a nanny with her own child as it would be company for my DS. Do any of you have an opinion on this?

What happens about holidays, etc? I pressume we would pay her for a certain amount of holiday. Do you just try and coordinate your holiday time with one another?

What about extra costs? Do you give a certain amount a week for extras like playgroups or do they just take them and bill you seperately.

I think thats it. Thanks smile

snickersnack Wed 20-Aug-08 21:40:25

For 3 days a week, we pay our nanny £1500 a month gross. On top of that we pay about £115 employer NI - I haven't got the exact figures to hand. That's in London.

We used an agency as we'd never employed a nanny before. They offered us a PAYE service but we found a cheaper option - a guy who handles all the payroll and HMRC stuff for a very reasonable fee (can't recall how much but perhaps around £120 a year). Unless you're pretty good at that side of things, I think it's worth paying someone.