Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

first time nanny tips and creative things to do with a 4, nearly 5 year old!

(9 Posts)
fairibell Mon 11-Aug-08 15:32:26

I will be starting my first nannying position in October, looking after a 9 month old during the day and a 4, nearly 5 year old boy before and after school. I will also be bringing my daughter, who will be almost 5 months.

Really just looking for any tips/advice etc - I have been a primary school teacher for the last 5 years, but realise that nannying will be a whole new kettle of fish!!

So what is going to help me get the little ones into a routine? best things to do/avoid?

Have been to the park with the mum and children once already and will be meeting them tomorrow, I have suggested at their house so her little boy can show me his bedroom/toys etc. Going to suggest I could do a few afternoons baby sitting before I start too...

Any ideas for activities for 5 year old boy? tends to get bored easily with noone to play with etc - looking for things other than the obvious painting, cooking, playdoh, gardening - thinking of in school holidays getting him to take pics of where we go/things we do etc and keeping a scrap book with drawings etc too... what else is a bit different?

any nannying tips greatly appreciated!!

thanks so much!

Dynamicnanny Mon 11-Aug-08 15:38:39

I think like you said its important to do stuff wih the older one too - especially as there will now be 2 little ones getting the attention.