Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

should i be paying retainer when the place is unavailable?

(26 Posts)
oldwomanwholivedinashoe Tue 29-Jul-08 16:54:24

Can someone tell me if this is ok.
I am a teacher and pay half pay through school hols as a retainer. We have used the same childminder for 2.5 years now and usually duringt he holidays we ask her to take the children for a couple of mornings / days a week so that they don't get too used to being with me and I have a chance to get a few things done.
This is always done on a very casual basis. This year however the childminder is taking on 9month old twins in september, and is having them for times over the hols so they can get used to her.
Because of this, when I asked her about taking the children some of the hols, she said she could only do 3 mornings in the whole of the 6 weeks because of her numbers. i understand the whole numbers thing but should I be paying a retainer when the place I'm retaining is not really available to me?

dmo Tue 29-Jul-08 16:56:20

no i dont think so

oldwomanwholivedinashoe Tue 29-Jul-08 17:15:38

I dont think so either but Im not sure what to do about it as I dont want to upset her - she's a really good minder.

MindingMum Tue 29-Jul-08 17:15:38

um... this is a odd one because she should be able to offer you the equivelent hours for which you pay a retainer iyswim - so if your retainer adds up to 10 hours a week, then she should be able to offer you 10 hours of childcare.

however if you don't pay the retainer she doesn't have to hold the place at all so i think this is something that isn't black and white.

If i were you, i would ask her for a meeting to discuss it.

oldwomanwholivedinashoe Tue 29-Jul-08 17:17:39