Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Rules for childcare in your own home - total novice would like some help!

(10 Posts)
LovelyDear Mon 28-Jul-08 23:20:21

I'm new to non-nursery based childcare. I had a near-miss with a childminder who took my PFB to the pub on his first settling-in visit so that didn't work out. Now I have two school aged children and i need to work one full day a week at the office (and some time from home) and so I'm thinking of getting a friend's much-loved 'nanny' to pick my kids up and bring them home to my house, feed them and care for them until I get home. She won't have any other children with her. Should someone in this situation be 'registered' like a childminder or is it a different kettle of fish?

I know you are going to tell me I should have a contract but my friend hasn't had one for the two years she's used her (they no longer need her) and I'm very lazy and possibly over-relaxed about it. She's past child bearing age! what else should I think about? I'm meeting her tomorrow. At my house.

catepilarr Mon 28-Jul-08 23:39:50

she is going to be your nanny when in your house , not a childminder.

HarrietTheSpy Mon 28-Jul-08 23:40:56

Hi there