Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

how to find out about free English courses for au pair?

(18 Posts)
MizZan Thu 24-Jul-08 21:05:56

Is it still the case that free English courses are offered for EU citizens (including au pairs) - I am looking for info on this for the town where I live, Cambridge, and coming up with nothing? Any pointers much appreciated.

midnightexpress Thu 24-Jul-08 21:09:13

I'd be very surprised! When were they ever free? Cambridge choc full of language schools of course, but I've never heard of free classes. I used to work in a school which did offer cheaper classes for au pairs at the less popular times (ie afternoons) but still pretty pricey. As far as I remember, the host families usually used to pay as part of the package. This was Hampstead, though, so I guess they could afford to grin.

Julesnobrain Thu 24-Jul-08 21:19:37

Hi they used to be free, subsidised by the government for EU citizens. It stopped about 2 years ago and now you / or the au pair has to pay. I have found whilst private colleges are more expensive they are flexible with start dates

MizZan Thu 24-Jul-08 21:22:05

Ah - that explains it Jules. Thank you. The private ones are all so expensive in Cambridge that it's incredible - we said we'd pay half for our au pair but the cost from her perspective is going to look quite alarming.

midnightexpress Thu 24-Jul-08 21:29:34

MizZan, have you tried any of the local authority FE colleges? They usually offer classes too, andit might be a cheaper option, though less flexibility re start dates I would imagine.

catepilarr Thu 24-Jul-08 22:18:10

there are still free classes available somewhere - just have seen a sign this weekend in inverness. i know that does not help you. i would imagine that in cambridge there are so many private courses that noone bothers to run the free one.

Millarkie Fri 25-Jul-08 10:29:41