Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Parents - What do you expect from your childminder Re After school care? Cm's - What do you provide Re After school care?

(10 Posts)
LoveMyGirls Mon 14-Jul-08 13:40:30

I've been childminding for a couple of years now, I'm very experienced with younger children and fairly experienced with older children but I've done a lot more holiday care than after school care and I'm just wondering what is expected?

I've got a lady coming to see me tonight about caring for her 10yr old and just wondering what I should be offering. The after schooler I used to have I offered to help with homework but she prefered to do it with her mum, sometimes dd1 and mindee would do their homework together but if they didn't want to then I didn't push it but now i'm wondering if offering to help with homework is something that is expected or not?

looneytune Mon 14-Jul-08 13:50:59

Hello

In my 3 yrs of childminding I've mainly had pre-schoolers, with just a 5 year old and 8 year old after schooler when I first started (my last after schooler was after all day at pre-school so didn't have homework). I did quickly test spellings with the 8 yr old after school but that was about it.

As a parent, it would depend on what time my child was with you til. I would prefer to have unwind time after all day at school and would prefer a trip to the park, playing outside, free play and chill time at home (but i'm saying that as a mum of a 5 yr old). If he was there til quite late and was likely to be going to bed shortly after getting home then I'd probably like homework to be done at yours. I suppose if your own dd is doing homework at some point then it would be good for them to do it together if the mum wants that.

So basically......I haven't got a clue is the answer!!! grin

Shoshe Mon 14-Jul-08 13:54:18