Talk

Advanced search

Is being a childminder profitable?

(62 Posts)
Yorkymidge Sun 10-May-20 18:36:30

Hello,

I have two children aged 2 and a 3 month old baby. Lockdown (amongst other factors) has made me realise that i don’t want to go back to working in a nursery. I know two childminders, one claims to earn £40k per year, before deductions, the other is always on holiday and seems to have a comfortable life, she says she claims a lot of bills eg heating/water. She only has one child during the day, then before/after school children. But from what i’ve heard from forums, childminders don’t seem to earn much. So, what i’m asking is, is it all that it seems from the people i know? Is it profitable? I have an attached converted garage so could keep the business separate from my home as such and i hold a foundation degree in early years.

Thanks!

OP’s posts: |
Susanna85 Sun 10-May-20 18:41:33

Can't see how it can be that profitable. We paid our DD's childminder £6.50 per hour at Childminder's home, breakfast & lunch included.

NuffSaidSam Sun 10-May-20 18:43:22

It can be if you are in an area where you can charge highly and are constantly working to capacity.

I don't think it would be for you because with three small children of your own you wouldn't be able to take many full-day children.

imperialqueen Sun 10-May-20 20:55:50

You would only be able to take on one under school age child as you have two under school age children yourself. (Ths is the ratio in Scotland, think it's the same in England).

Though you will save on childcare costs. So you'd need to work out what you'd get for one pre schooler 5 days a week and then however many school age children you would like. You would also need to look into the demand for childminders in your area to know if it would be profitable in your area. It can be tricky to fill all your spaces everyday of the week.

Yorkymidge Sun 10-May-20 22:35:32