Talk

Advanced search

No Observations

(6 Posts)
Princesspickle777 Mon 19-Aug-19 14:07:36

I’m just looking for opinions in this to see if I’m overreacting and being precious.
My DD started with her childminder in April, she only goes for 1 day a week but is pretty settled.
The childminder uses baby’s days to record everything so I can see on the app on my phone. Since starting the only observations on her file are the parent ones I’ve submitted myself.
I work in education and spent a good few years working in a pre school/nursery, we used to have to have 2 observations completed per week per child which I know is not a requirement but it was nice to see and it work when tracking development.
Am I right in thinking that no observations at all in 4 months isn’t right?. The childminder works daily with an assistant so isn’t on her own.

OP’s posts: |
itsaboojum Mon 19-Aug-19 17:22:39

But you say it yourself: it is not a requirement. The only required documents are the Two Year Progress Check and the EYFS Profile at the end of reception year.And, with all due respect, just because you’ve done things one particular way at another setting, doesn’t mean she or any other childcare provider has to do it that way.

I’ve had the Babysdays sales pitch on several occasions, and they’re always at some pains to stress it’s not exclusively an observations software application: it’s a whole childcare management package. The observations tools are just one of about a hundred features, and every single feature, including the observations, is intended to be optional. It’s entirely up to your childminder if she uses it for observations, attendance records, policies, paperwork, risk assessments or anything else.