Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Problem finding childcare - please help

(22 Posts)
tigger15 Thu 02-Aug-07 18:39:08

I am due to go back to work very soon and need to find someone to look after my ds who will then be aged 6 months. I am a city lawyer (not magic circle) quite low down the hierarchy (I'm a very young mother by lawyer standards)and work long but not horrendous hours. Therefore I need childcare that goes from 8-6.30 as a minimum so that I have some chance of occasionally being home on time.

I thought a nanny would be a good idea as most CMs and nurseries only seem to go till 6pm. Plus the only nursey near us which is £2k pcm is always full.

I advertised in the Lady for a nanny and was willing to pay £340-350net pw. I got one who then discovered her visa was running out. I then offered it to another who despite having agreed that she was interested in the job and the salary came back today saying that she couldn't accept it unless I gave her £100+ pw on top of that. Since that would mean that I could just about afford my travel to work and maybe if I'm really lucky a coffee on top, I don't see much point in doing this.

Most of the applications I've received have either not read the advert eg thinking they're applying for a housekeeper instead of a live out nanny or have very little experience with little children/babies. I'm not going to leave my ds with someone I can't trust or feel won't know what to do with him. (Mixed feelings about going back to work which aren't helping but I get depressed being at home so SAHM is really the last option.)

Am I offering too little money? Is there any other avenue I can explore that will suit my needs?

All advice gratefully accepted.

oneplusone Thu 02-Aug-07 18:43:25