Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Question about au pairs...

(10 Posts)
Weegle Tue 26-Jun-07 18:17:40

We are looking to getting our first au pair. I am very interested in someone through Au Pair World who has emailed me in response to a long list of questions I asked her. We also gave her a lot of info about us and some pics of our family. I am now waiting for some references. My question is: is your gut feeling normally right? It seems so hard to make a decision based on never meeting someone! My gut feeling says she'll fit in just fine, her sense of humour is similar to ours over email, and she looks normal in her pictures! I'm just concerned that we will be sharing our home with someone who we'll never have met! Tell me these are normal worries and that it will all be fine!

blueshoes Tue 26-Jun-07 19:24:30

I am an ap novice - got one from the great aupair site to start in Aug. I am told it is luck. And a relaxed attitude on your part helps ie accept that your lifestyle will change with someone sharing your house (eg no more romantic dinners at home). Treat ap as a big sister rather than an employee, makes her happy and less homesick.

defo check references. Speak to them if possible. Also speak to the aupair over the phone to assess her English and consistency with her written answers.

Hope someone with more experience comes along.

Jix Tue 26-Jun-07 22:02:36

Which au-pair site did you use?
Any tips please pass on!

Weegle Wed 27-Jun-07 11:27:26

I've been using Au Pair World. I paid the extra to become a premium member so I could contact the ones I was interested in/were interested in us.

Just waiting for her references now...

Quattrocento Wed 27-Jun-07 11:30:02

Just going through same process Weegle. Think you just have to trust your instincts. Going through Au Pair World, what did you do about police checks, health issues etc?