Talk

Advanced search

How up to date is your CM's DBS

(19 Posts)
sparklyelephant Sat 23-Sep-17 03:00:51

I registered in 2007 and Ive never had a CRB for childminding either.
(I worked in our local primary school previous to childminding and had an enhanced CRB for that)
When I questioned this with Ofsted, they told me I wouldn't be an an Ofsted registered childminder if I had been unsuitable.

Wildaboutoscar Wed 20-Sep-17 04:10:29

Agree Girlguiding can't /won't check on the update service . They complete a new DBS on all helpers even if they have existing DBS certificates and or are registered for the update service. This included parents who help on sleepovers. I'm a teacher and had to have one when I helped .

Yukbuck Sat 16-Sep-17 10:50:48

I wish I could answer.
It's the same for everything though.
Obviously as a nanny my nanny families don't make me get a new one each time! But that is at their discretion.
Schools, swimming teachers, girl guides, scouts, etc.. all require their own DBS.

insancerre Sat 16-Sep-17 09:05:15

I have employed people who are on the update
We don't require a new dbs, we just need the number and we check online
Why aren't the girl guides doing that?

Yukbuck Sat 16-Sep-17 09:02:47

I know. That's what I'm trying to explain. It's supposed to mean we only need one but I genuinely don't know anyone who only has one. Obviously there are people on here with only one but I don't know anyone on real life and I know lots of people with DBS's due to my job and extra activities.

HSMMaCM Sat 16-Sep-17 08:59:14

The point of the new DBS is that we're not supposed to need more than one!

Yukbuck Sat 16-Sep-17 08:57:41

I did sad but still need separate ones everywhere. I'm not really sure why! And I'm not the only person I know with this problem! Girlguiding have their own rules as do schools. It sucks

insancerre Sat 16-Sep-17 08:36:58

Yukbuck