Talk

Advanced search

28 month old not speaking

(12 Posts)
user1499989776 Fri 14-Jul-17 01:04:59

Hi I'm new to mumsnet and I'm not sure if I'm posting this right. Anyway, I don't have a child but I do have a nephew who I look after twice a week. He is 28 months so nearly two and a half. He hasn't said a single word yet so I'm a little worried. All the other children I know at that age are speaking quite a lot. I just wondered if it's normal not to be speaking or is there something wrong. If so what could it be?

OP’s posts: |
nannynick Fri 14-Jul-17 07:56:48

Does he talk to his mum & dad?

Does he point to things that he wants?

It would cause me concern but I would want to look at the bigger picture, as some children are quiet in some situations.

Looneytune253 Fri 14-Jul-17 08:03:00

It depends. Does he make any sounds yet? He must be babbling? If not then yes defo a cause for concern. If it's full words or sentences you're missing i wouldn't be worried yet, he's still quite young.

jannier Fri 14-Jul-17 08:05:13

In registered care you would be tracking his development including speech and communication you could then do a referral and also get your inclusion officer to support you as it is I would get mum to talk to her Hv He should have either already had or be due a 2 year check but if its not been picked up you she could still call them. Childrens centres often have small talk sessions where you can get advice and possibly a referral.
Does he make normal babble noises and any recognisable sounds or indicate his needs in non verbal ways?
Does he need to speak or are adults always giving him what he wants anyway?

Bobbybobbins Fri 14-Jul-17 08:14:49

I would get in touch with his health visitor and ask for a referral to speech and language.

user1499989776 Fri 14-Jul-17 13:11:31