Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Settling in - whats normal/appropriate

(15 Posts)
Wellthen Fri 02-Jun-17 10:14:46

My DD,who will be 14 months then, will be going to childcare 3 days a week from September.

I'm a teacher and so have the luxury of being free over August and would like to use this time to settle DD in with her childminder (who we havent found yet as my job location was a bit up in the air until recently).

So I was wondering what would be appropriate. I understand the childminder doesn't really want days and days of me hanging around but I'd like to do it as gradually as possible. I know lots dont have a choice in terms of financially or time wise but surely any settling in is better done gradually, allowing the child to use the parent as a secure base as much as they need to.

I'd like to do at least 2 or 3 sessions with me there, even for just a couple of hours. Obviously the aim would be that she becomes more comfortable and independent and I can withdraw to the kitchen for example and let the childminder get on.

Then I guess I'd like to do a few shorter sessions (without me there) before she actually goes 3 full days in September. I'm happy to pay for a full morning or afternoon session for these - I'm certainly not trying to get free childcare.

I know some will say I'm being PFB and 'she'll be fine' - yes, I know she will and I know the childminders are very experienced. Hence why I'm asking whats appropriate - I dont want the childminder to think I'm going to be an obsessive or difficult Mum!

BoraThirch Fri 02-Jun-17 10:17:58

I think 3 sessions are generally enough - one with you both visiting for an hour, one where maybe you stay for 30 minutes then go out/into another room for an hour, then maybe a half day just for you DD. Following week go straight in full time.

BoraThirch Fri 02-Jun-17 10:19:57