Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Changing form childminding to being a nanny

(5 Posts)
Gosia2017 Tue 04-Apr-17 16:44:59

Hello all,

I have been childminding for almost 6 years now, but now I have decided to have a change and try as a nanny. I was wondering about few things before deciding:
1. Is it possible to keep my childminding registration with nanny registration with Ofsted together. Or do I need to choose straightaway?
2. Do I need indemnity insurance for nanny? or can I use my childminding insurance until it runs out?
3. Do I still get the Ofsted inspections? or is it gone?
4. I have my own children and during the school breaks do you take your children to work with you or bring the 'other' child with you to your home?
5. What is the good rate to start with in London? Do you increase if there more than 1 child or when during your work another one is born to the family?
Thank you I would appreciate all the feedback.

Misspilly88 Tue 04-Apr-17 16:48:57

1. Not sure
2. You'd need to change insurance because you'll be at a different premises.
3. You can still get inspected but they don't do them very often and are usually just to check your paperwork (first aid and insurance) ask what you'd do if you had a child protection concern. Friends have had inspections that lasted 10mins.
4. Is up to your employer. You set the terms with the family so need to make sure you're both happy with the arrangements.
5. Not sure what the going rate is in London but again it's something you discuss with the employer.

HSMMaCM Tue 04-Apr-17 18:38:44

1. I know someone who did childminding 2 days a week and nannying the other 3 days, so it's definitely possible to have both registrations running at once.

nannynick Tue 04-Apr-17 19:36:54

1. Yes, your childminding registration will also enable you to be a home childcarer.