Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

How to hand in my notice?

(20 Posts)
RentANDBills Mon 13-Feb-17 15:27:30

I've been working for this family for just over 6 months now and tbh I'm really miserable.
I was very particular with my job search this time round and made sure that I was only put forward for sole charge roles as I struggle with anxiety and shared care roles leave me paranoid.
I generally love my job and love the little girl I look after however Mum, who originally was meant to go back to work a week after I started, is still not working. She said last year that she was looking for a new job but now doesn't talk about it at all and I feel very much like the topic is off limits.
She is in the house all of the time and regularly comes in and out to join in with baby and I, leaving me slightly redundant and baby screaming for her when she leaves.
She has also slowly but steadily become quite micromanaging and nit-picky. The majority of it is for tasks I'm in the process of doing or stuff that I don't need to be told (eg. Change baby's nappy when she's done a poo - er... I know!).
She also has become quite cold when she talks to me (and others, I think she's very stressed) but I can't explain that one properly as its more HOW things are said rather than what's said.
I've put up with this change for the last half year but I'm now getting panicky and stressed as I feel like she's going to swoop in at any moment.
This is not the first time this has happened to me as a Nanny and frankly - I give up. I don't want to be a Nanny anymore.

However, they spent a lot with an agency to get me and I'll massively shove them up shit creek if I leave. I'm really really worried about what to say when handing my notice in. I don't want to discuss why, least of all because it'll make the last month really tense.