Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Giving CMer notice- can anyone clarify this please?

(20 Posts)
OneWithTheForce Wed 01-Feb-17 21:42:45

I am ending the contest with my childminder.

My contract says:

"Period of notice required to end the contract: 4 weeks. (Notice of termination of the contract must be given in writing *and should not include a period of holiday or paid time off*)

I have bolded the part I am unsure of.

I will give 4 weeks' written notice and of course pay for the 4 weeks however I will not be sending my children for care during those 4 weeks. So, does this 4 week period then become a period of holiday or paid time off?

OneWithTheForce Wed 01-Feb-17 21:43:33

Well I thought I had bolded the part I was unsure of! It's the part about holiday or paid time off.

LottieDoubtie Wed 01-Feb-17 21:45:24

I'm not a legal expert. BUT that doesn't look legal. She can't force you to send your child for four weeks just to make it 'count' as notice.

So I wouldn't worry and proceed to pay her for four weeks but not send your DC.

OneWithTheForce Wed 01-Feb-17 21:48:00

Well DC won't be going back. I am ending the contract due to how they've been treated by her and her husband. It all came out on Monday when I collected them. I'm furious but I will give correct notice. This contract is one that is prepared by NICMA (I am in NI)

Willow2016 Wed 01-Feb-17 22:58:50

You dont have to send the kids but you do have to pay for the 4 weeks.
Whether you pay it all at once or weekly is up to you.
Do put it in writing and keep a copy. And get reciepts for the payments.