Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Childminder vs nanny share

(22 Posts)
Bibblewanda Fri 27-Jan-17 16:51:02

My 11 month old is currently with a childminder (has been going for 6 weeks) and seems to be quite settled. She's a lovely lady with lots of experience. However she takes 5 weeks holiday so we have to take all ours at the same time which is a little annoying and doesn't leave us any days left for emergencies.

An opportunity has come up for us to have a nanny share with another family nearby who have one slightly younger baby.

I have limited experience of the childcare game and can't find much online - what are the pros and cons of nanny shares? How do they work? Are they better than a childminder? I feel like we're in a more precarious position with a nanny, is that right?

All experiences and thoughts welcome!

Yukbuck Fri 27-Jan-17 17:02:15

Hi, coming from the nannies perspective here.
Works great in my experience. I'm pretty much never off sick though. Haven't had a sick day in over a year. The babies have now grown up to be best buddies (more like siblings) if you get to know the other family well, then you could help each other out when nanny takes holiday/ is off sick. Your baby gets to be in their own home (other family too) you can choose some of your holidays.
Things to note, other family may have another child which may mean they want to leave the nanny share arrangement / lower days. Might have different parenting styles.
Can't really think of much else. Overall it works great but you have to make sure you're all on the same page and are maybe a little relaxed on some areas.

Bibblewanda Fri 27-Jan-17 17:14:46

Thank you for your response. Yes my main concern is them having another baby. I'm younger than she is and in any case certainly won't have another for at least three years (if at all).