Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Setting up a Childminders in Hertfordshire

(6 Posts)
SPEEL2017 Mon 02-Jan-17 14:13:51

I am a qualified teacher who has taught in reception for five years. I currently the Early Years Leader in my school and am a trained Forest School teacher, running sessions most afternoons with reception children and a group of children with special educational needs.

I will soon be moving back to Hitchin from London and am thinking of setting up a childminding setting with my mother. A big part of the ethos of this setting would be Forest School learning where children learn in a natural environment and develop confidence, creativity and care.

I have enjoyed teaching and have a passion for working with children in their early years of learning but need to move away from a school setting as I believe Early Learning should be more focused on children's prime areas of development (Personal, Social and Emotional, Communication and Language and Physical Develolment) rather than rushing children through formalised maths and literacy learning before they are ready.

I am thinking of having the childminding setting open Monday to Thursday, would this be something people would be interested in or do people require Monday- Friday care? Also, do parents/carers normally split childcare between nurseries and childminders or would parents/carers send their children to a childminder on a full time basis?

Is Forest School something parents/carers in the Hitchin area are interested in?

Thank you in advance for any help!
Sian

exercisejunkie Mon 02-Jan-17 14:55:49