Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

I'm a new nanny - Any tips?

(7 Posts)
chlo03 Tue 09-Aug-16 23:33:57

Hi I've just got a job as a nanny to 4 children,3 boys and 1 girl, boys are 9,7,2 and a half and girl is 5. Any tips from fellow nannies or childminders or even parents? It's my first time doing this so any help would be appreciated

trickydickie Wed 10-Aug-16 00:31:08

If it is the school summer holidays then try and get out as much as possible with the children. Take lunch out with you all. Trawl through the internet and find local free or cheap activities you can take the kids to. Where I live there is always something on a couple of days a week. See if the kids want to meet up with any of their friends. Maybe see if friend's Mum/Dad want to meet up on a day out. Always great getting a bit of adult company when out with the children. Or maybe you have friends with children who you could all meet up with too. Once schools are back get out and about to toddlers groups (usually off during summer hols) and I am sure you will meet other parents/nannies/childminders as well. Good luck but not too hard if it isn't too wet and you can get them all out and about.

chlo03 Wed 10-Aug-16 00:40:15

thanks so much for your reply, the ideas you put forward all seem great and I'm going to give them a try

Cindy34 Wed 10-Aug-16 08:03:44

Have a plan for each day but be adaptable. Go with the flow, your plan may not be what the children want, so take their lead. Always pack a picnic, or at least drinks and a few snacks. 4-children costs loads if eating out. Discuss an activities budget with the parents, also discuss how far you can take them and consider travel. For younger children travelling somewhere is a huge part of the outing, some love trains or going a bus.