Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Childminder is pregnant, what to do?

(12 Posts)
TheEagle Mon 01-Aug-16 11:33:49

So our lovely childminder has told me that she's pregnant. She's due in February. She plans to work up to 38 weeks.

She minds my 2.5yo and my 15mo twins in her own home. My 2.5yo adores her, and gets along so well with her little girls. The twins are very happy there too.

I'm a non-permanent teacher but I have a job in place from Sept-Christmas. Could go on longer, otherwise I'll be back subbing.

What do others do in this situation? Do I start looking around for someone new now? I'm so anxious about how the change will affect my older boy.

DH has floated the idea of me staying home for a bit. We could organise for him to take some annual leave as well so maybe I could work for a bit during the Feb-Jun period.

Would love to hear from others who have been in this situation as to what they have done.

jannier Mon 01-Aug-16 13:34:47

Ask her what her plans are for maternity leave, if she has anyone who could cover her and if it would help putting your eldest in nursery for his funding. Then go from there. I have done maternity cover before.

She can have the 4 under 5 as continuity of care.

TheEagle Mon 01-Aug-16 13:40:24

Thanks jannier, I'm not in the UK so that might make a bit of a difference.

I don't want to put my older boy into crèche, our local one doesn't have a good reputation and we're happier with the childminder setting. She has family connections to another crèche so she might well known of someone who would take over for a few months. As I'm a teacher, I'll be off from the end of June so that might help the situation as well.

eastmidswarwicknightnanny Mon 01-Aug-16 15:48:47