Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

What can Nanny do with DD12 this summer?

(12 Posts)
Jinglebellsarenearlyhere Wed 06-Jul-16 17:27:22

Hi there

It's my first time having a nanny as we have used childminders before and I'm beginning to panic about what the nanny and my only child DD age 12 will do.

If you have this age children what do they do in the summer or if you are a nanny what do you plan?

dogsandkids Wed 06-Jul-16 17:34:58

Surely it is the job of the Nanny (who is presumably trained/qualified/has experience) to think up activities rather than you?! Is this not what you are paying them for? Hope it goes well OP.

BertrandRussell Wed 06-Jul-16 17:40:57

Surely a lot depends on what your child wants to do? By 12 mine both spend quite a lot of the summer holidays doing things with friends- my role was generally cook and taxi service, apart from a few planned family outings and sometimes some sort of summer school -music or drama or something.

eyebrowsonfleek Wed 06-Jul-16 18:11:04

What does your dd enjoy?
My 13 year old has planned
- cinema trips to see BFG and Finding Dory with friends
- work through more recipes out of her Tanya Burr book. (YouTuber for those who don't know)
- read
-play computer games
- hang out at the shops with friends
- go swimming
- listen to lots of music and learn the lyrics to any that she likes
- watch movies/tv with me (Amazon Prime)
- go on holiday with her Dad

NerrSnerr Wed 06-Jul-16 18:18:15

The 12 year olds I know go swimming with friends (swimming pool is walking distance so go without parents), go to friends houses and spend the rest of the time watching tv and on the computer on most days. Once or twice a week have a day or trip out with parents/ family to town, big parks etc. Once or twice in the holidays they will go to theme parks and zoos etc but I don't know if you'd prefer to do those big trips.