Talk

Advanced search

nanny redundancy

(8 Posts)
Ifyoubuildit Mon 16-May-16 17:02:34

Hi - we need to make our nanny redundant as I have just quit my job. I want to do this in the kindest possible way. She's new to nannying and I'm new to having a nanny.

I'm really upset about having to make her redundant as she's brilliant. She's been with us for 18 months.

She's on 1 months' notice but I'm on 3 months. DH wants to give her only 1 months' notice as then we're covered for the rest of my notice period but this feels harsh to me (although I am worried what we'll do if she leaves early).

Any advice gratefully received.

OP’s posts: |
Pigeonpost Mon 16-May-16 17:04:27

I would just give her the one month, maybe 6 weeks at a push. We had a similar situation. It was tough but we had the same concerns as your DH.

Frazzled2207 Mon 16-May-16 17:12:19

I would just give one month or maybe 6 weeks.
She never needs to know that your notice period was 3 months.

nannynick Mon 16-May-16 18:47:45

Tricky as you presumably still need childcare for the next three months. So I would just give the notice as required in your contract. Perhaps drop some hints that you are not that happy at work so it does not come as a complete surprise.

Are you going to look for a new job? If so then you may get that before your current one officially ends and so move straight in to that job.

Blondeshavemorefun Mon 16-May-16 18:53:27

I've always said 4 weeks isn't a lot so more would be nice

Yes she may leave you before / she may not

I've had jobs wait for me and they've got a temp and reason I got the job was the fact I said I wouldn't leave my family early - ie in the lurch

blublutoo Tue 17-May-16 21:01:31