Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Advice on what to pay nanny

(12 Posts)
MilkAndFenty Wed 06-Apr-16 21:57:31

Hi there!
I'm new to nannies and was after some advice on what to pay gross.
We live outside of London and are looking for a part time nanny.
I was thinking £11 gross, and the lady at the agency agreed that this was acceptable.
However, now I'm wondering if im getting gross and net confused!
Is £11 Gross a normal rate?

Blondeshavemorefun Wed 06-Apr-16 22:29:12

Salary depends on area experience age and supply and demand

Where are you??

I would say that £11 gross is a tad low for someone like me - but for newly qualified /5yrs exp prob ok

MilkAndFenty Wed 06-Apr-16 22:53:18

Okay great- what is a more average sounding amount?

MilkAndFenty Wed 06-Apr-16 22:53:40

We're in warwickshire

Cindy34 Thu 07-Apr-16 06:10:46

£8-12 perhaps. Decide on what you can afford and offer a bit below that. See who you get applying. Then increase if you don't find anyone suitable.

Karoleann Thu 07-Apr-16 07:22:52

milk - it depends on if you want a full day or just after school. For a full day outside London £11 gross seems reasonable.
Though, if the lady at the agency agreed with you then I would go with £11/gross.

Paffle Thu 07-Apr-16 07:28:50

Just make sure it's very clear before anyone agrees anything. Most nannies (IME) quote rates in £net ph so they may kind of assume net even if you're saying gross IYSIM. I would also use an online calculator to work out roughly what the net is for comparison purposes. £11 net ph is what a fairly experienced Nanny would get in London IME.

Blondeshavemorefun Thu 07-Apr-16 09:01:23

Tbh if the lady at the agency said this is an ok wage then go with it

But what nannies do you get for that? Few years exp? 10yrs? 25yrs (like me)

I couldn't afford to pay my bills etc on £11 gross

It's also what you can afford to pay