Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

I'm 18 and I'm struggling to find work as a nanny/junior nanny - is there anything I can do?

(30 Posts)
nwando123 Tue 05-Apr-16 03:57:54

Hi there,

I'm in a bit of a sticky situation. I've recently become estranged from my parents because of an extremely toxic home environment and now I've decided to take a few years out before I go to university, just to find my feet a bit. Now, I'm looking for work either as a mother's help/junior nanny in London. It can be live-in or live-out. I'm 18 and I'm working towards my childcare qualifications and first aid certificates but I'm really finding it tough. I think this is mostly to do with my age? I don't know what to do - I love children a lot and would perhaps like to go into teaching, but I am very passionate about this, and I have some experience working with young children over the summer, but I seem to be having no luck! I've spent hours on end on agencies and sending my CV out and one mother said I sounded 'really great' but she wanted someone older. I am really struggling a bit now and I can understand why parents would want someone older. I don't necessarily want to be an au-pair but if nothing else works out I am willing to consider it. Is there anything I'm doing wrong, or should be doing differently? Does anybody have any tips or know anyone who would be willing to help? Thank you

PS I know lots of parents want nannies who can drive - I can't for a health reason which seems to be a disadvantages. Also one agency have interviewed me but are struggling to find work because of my age.

DessertOrDesert Tue 05-Apr-16 04:47:13

Your not qualified either, which I doubt helps. I would take on a not quite qualified, but loads of experience, or young, limited experience and working towards qualification, but not limited qualifications and limited experience.