This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

thinking of starting up as a childminder- few questions

(16 Posts)
TheSkyIsAwake Tue 29-Mar-16 08:03:32

Hi all,

I'm thinking of starting up as a childminder. I've been working in childcare for 9 years, qualified etc but stress at work has got me looking for a new job.

I just had a couple of questions if someone could please help me.

1. What are your most used resources?

2. Do I need an entire specific room for naps or can it be travel cot in lounge/sleep mat?

3. Ratios: if I have 6 under 8 (3 of which would be my own children) can I have any over 8's too?

Tia.

PennyHasNoSurname Tue 29-Mar-16 08:07:52

My dm is a CM.

1- hers are a fab fancy dress box (with stuff from when I was a little kid and a book nook (big floor cushions and trays of books which she will read to them whenever they want)

2- you just need some way to facilitate naps. My dm (also my cm) uses the dining room to work from (its large), so naps are taken in childs own buggy in either the lounge or kitchen

3- you can have as many over 8s as you want

NickNacks Tue 29-Mar-16 08:09:42

1. Small table and chairs, tuff spot tray, water/sand tray, duplo/Lego, craft resources, role play. Toys wise it will depend on ages of children.

2. Will you be using the lounge for anything else at that time? Some of my children would struggle to sleep with others close by. Noise wise it's hard especially in the school holidays to keep it quiet enough for decent naps to happen.

3. Yes you can have over 8's too. Overall number will be dictated by your insurance provider. It must also not be at detriment to EYFS children.

TheSkyIsAwake Tue 29-Mar-16 08:40:54

I have a large playroom that I can use whilst lounge is a nap area or vice versa.

Thank you for the replies. I've just emailed the council to book on a pre-registration coursesmile

HSMMaCM Tue 29-Mar-16 10:30:21