We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Feel stuck

(9 Posts)
SarahKRxo1 Tue 15-Mar-16 15:18:22

Hello, I have been working for my NF for about 10 months now, I see the children as my own and we have bonded massively, I get on extremely well with MB as well so all in all I'm a happy nanny.
When I first started I was working 28 hours a week, my youngest charge started nursery and MB found herself a new job so my hours were cut to 24 a week (okay I could live with this). Since I was so happy in the job I thought money isn't everything, I would rather be happy.
Things have been going well for the last couple of months except MB's new job are a terrible company to work for, constantly chopping and changing her hours therefor my hours have been chopped and changed as well.
My hours at the moment are Mon, Wed, Fri and sat (I've not had a full week end of since Christmas and that's only because Christmas Day and Boxing Day happened to fall on the week end).
We were speaking yesterday and she informed me that her hours were being cut (by her own choice though) so therefor my hours were being cut again by 2 or 3 hours a week. It's not a huge difference but I don't exactly make that much money as it.
The new hours would be:-
Week 1 - Mon, Wed, Fri
Week 2 - Mon, Wed, Sat and so on.
Am I right in thinking its a bit unfair for her to cut my hours but expect me to technically be available four days a week as one week I would work a fri then the next a sat?
I've tried to explain to her that Im struggling as it is finding another job to fit around my current hours to make up for the short fall but with the new hours it would probably be impossible.