Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Childcare For 7 Children

(45 Posts)
MyUserNameIsGreat Mon 29-Feb-16 17:30:23

Hi, I'm a new member although I've lurked on and off for years. I'm now in a position where I need some advice from you lovely people.

I'm mum of 4 boys ages 8 (9 in May), 7 (just turned last month), 3 (4 in a couple of weeks) and almost 11 months.

For the past 4 months, my husband and I have been caring for his sisters three children whilst she has been unwell. This was supposed to have been for just a couple of weeks but unfortunately she is still not well enough to care for her children (she is a single mum, widowed). The children are 7, 5 and 3 (4 in May).

I have to go back to work after Easter. I am a primary school teacher. I was supposed to return after Christmas but took an extra term off unpaid. I now need to return to work. I will be working at minimum 8:30 til 4pm but prefer to stay at school an extra hour or two to set up for the next day and to do any marking rather than taking it home with me.

My husband is manager of a retail store working 12 hour shifts plus 45 minutes travel time each way. He has used all his annual leave and we can't afford for him to take time off.

There is no family to help. My husband and his sister grew up in foster care and only have each other. My own parents are elderly and I don't have any siblings.

So we need to look at paying for childcare.

At the moment we have the two 3 year olds in nursery for 5 mornings a week.

We need somebody to have the baby all day (8am to 6pm), drop the children at school and nursery (nursery attached to school), pick up the nursery children, go back again to pick up the school children and then look after them until 6pm.

Or something like that, anyway.