Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

help!!! confused

(6 Posts)
Samantha2014 Sun 28-Feb-16 08:30:27

Hi everyone
I'm new to this childminder stuff, but have to get one now.
How does the childcare vouchers work?
I don't earn enough so I don't pay tax, does that mean I wouldn't benefit from it?
My partner earns more so can get vouchers that way.
I'm confused, don't really understand it
Help please X

LIZS Sun 28-Feb-16 08:41:01

How old is dc? Do you meant the early year funding for 3 & 4 yr olds which is universal or the salary sacrifice schemes via employers?

Samantha2014 Sun 28-Feb-16 08:42:55

I have one that will go before and after school and a two year old.
No it's not funded as I don't qualify for that X

icklekid Sun 28-Feb-16 08:46:02

If you don't pay tax the vouchers have no benefit to you I don't think.

PhoebeMcPeePee Sun 28-Feb-16 13:56:31

Childcare vouchers are a tax relief so your partner should use them but no point in you having them if you don't pay tax

nannynick Sun 28-Feb-16 14:53:51

Your partner could ask their employer if they provide a childcare voucher scheme, not all companies provide this.
Part of their salary would be paid in voucher (so stuff happens about taxes which makes this tax efficient). The voucher is electronic these days and sits in an online account with the voucher processing company.
You use that voucher to part-pay your childcare bill. The voucher takes time to clear (often at least 3 working days) so plan ahead for which bill it needs to contribute towards. If the voucher is issued at the end of the month then it won't pay a bill due at the end of the month, it would need to go towards the following months bill.